Read the neon signs

Sitting at a bar with two friends one evening, one shared that he suspected his wife was having an affair. We asked why he thought that. He explained that her job at a bank, a job she had had for many years, was always a 9-5 kind of job, but recently, she had begun to work a lot of late nights and even weekends and some overnights.

“Read the neon signs,” my other friend advised.

neon sign 4

That memory resurfaced while I was walking the dog this morning and begged the question, “What neon signs am I not reading?”

Sometimes ignoring reality is much easier than facing it. Looking back on my life, I can see many times when I refused to read the neon signs. I did not want to face the truth and have to deal with the fallout. I have often taken the attitude that if I ignore something long enough, it will go away, which can work.

But, living that way requires me to ignore my intuition and to suppress my feelings. It takes a lot of energy to deny reality and to pretend that everything is okay when, at some level, I know it is not.

God calls me to pull my head from the sand and face the difficulties I have been trying to avoid, the reality I have been ignoring. God calls me to live in a truth that sets me free.

Sometimes, as in my friend’s situation, the signs are pretty clear. Other times, though, the signs are not as easy to see.

neon sign 1

I must be in one of those cloudy periods now, because I don’t have a clue why this memory came back to me or what new lesson it is inviting me to learn. I can’t see what I can’t see, and I don’t know what I don’t know.

Could the neon signs be related to my relationship with Jesus and how I am feeling disconnected?

n101-0042-jesus-fish-neon-sculpture

Could it have something to do with my desire to move from full-time work to semi-retirement?

neon sign 2

Or does it have something to do with forming new relationships as I settle into life in Michigan?

Or….

I pray that God will open my eyes so I can see what is probably right in front of me—and then give me the courage to act. I want to be free. I want my life to be authentic.

neon sign 6

5 thoughts on “Read the neon signs

  1. annemarielom

    This reminds me of one of my favorite quotes, “Reality is God’s home address”. Reality is often difficult, unpleasant, uncomfortable etc. but, you have said, it points to God’s incarnation in our reality. Thank you for your insights.

    Reply
  2. Madeline Bialecki Post author

    I love that saying Anne Marie. I usually say that I can deal with anything, as long as I know what it is, and in most situations it is true that I prefer to deal with reality. But not always. “Reality is God’s home address,” is a great reminder of where I will find God. Thanks

    Reply
  3. deb

    Amazing, as much as I try to ignore the signs they keep popping up right in front of me. Honestly there is no more ignoring them, I know the path God is leading me to and I will be ok. Thank you.

    Reply
  4. Madeline Bialecki Post author

    I think there is something in our background, Deb,, that bends us toward denying what is right in front of us for as long as possible. The good news is that God leads and we are ok when we follow. Prayers for you on your journey.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

